Rainbow Windows quilt finished and question about thread breakage

Here it is finally, the finished Rainbow Windows quilt. I love how the Kona Coal allows the other colours to shine.

It will be available on my shop shortly.

The quilt itself was technically simple but the quilting made me tear my hair out. I used simple stipling using a grey polyester thread that I used successfully before and my trusted Pfaff GrandQuilter but the quilting process was painful !!! I haven’t been able to sew more that one minute at a time without the top thread breaking on me. There were some unfortunate spots where I could not sew more than a couple of inches at a time without the thread breaking. It took me two full days to quilt this mid-size quilt when it should have been done in a couple of hours. What happened on this quilt remains a mystery. I tried all the adjustments recommended to minimize breakage (modify tension, clear out lint regularly everywhere, etc.) but to no avail. All the tests I ran on a sample quilt sandwich were fine, it’s only once I started on the quilt again that the problems returned… Has anybody out there had the same experience with a GrandQuilter ? I would love to hear how you have solved the problem.

~~Catherine

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainbow Windows quilt finished and question about thread breakage

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Windows – Version 2 | Blue Square Quilting

Leave a Reply

