Rainbow Windows – Version 2

I liked Version 1 of this quilt, but I wanted to see what it would look like with a different quilting pattern. I had so much trouble with thread breakage on the first one that this time I chose straight lines using a walking foot, spaced out slightly over an inch. Here it is :

I also used some matching pearl cotton to hand quilt a line around each windows.

Here is the back :

I really like the parallel quilting lines, they give a nice texture to the back. To keep the quilting lines more or less equidistant, I used my trusted blue masking tape. I quilted the first line, then while pulling the quilt back to the top, I placed 5-in pieces of masking tape a long the line to the top. I then quilted again right down to the bottom of the quilt and moved the masking tape pieces again as a guide for the next line. The masking tape can be reused several times but need to be replaced once in a while when it stops sticking to the fabric.

Here is what it looks like on the quilt. The other advantage of this masking tape method is that it lets you conceal painlessly areas where the fabric does not lie perfectly flat. When that happens, you end up with an ugly tuck on the line. But if you notice an excess of fabric close to a seam, you can use the masking tape to fold any extra fabric at the seam so that you can sew over the folds neatly to avoid an nasty tuck. I didn’t figure this out until half way through the quilt, so there are a couple of tucks left on it, but you live and learn !

~~Catherine

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rainbow Windows – Version 2

  1. Alia says:

    I LOVE this! I just love it!

  2. Nussbaumer says:

    Coucou Cathy,
    Je l’ai vu en vrai ! il est magnifique. Chutttttttttttttttttttt !! gros bisous à bientôt

  3. Leah Day says:

    I think I like the back the best! All that beautiful open space just makes those pretty fabrics stand out and shine. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

