Of snowballs and stars

I have made some progress in my current projects and for some reason, just like last year, I seem to keep starting new projects before finishing the ongoing ones… I know I am not the only one with this affliction !

Anyway, here is the assembled snowball quilt :

I love the way it turned out. The colors match one of my all-time favorite quilts, the one I made for Lucie over a year ago. It is the one currently on her bed. I have also started a blue on cream version of these snowballs, slightly larger, with these blocks :

I can see a lot of ironing in my future… The other project in the works involves these twenty blocks :

I am still working out how to assemble them but in the meantime, I got sidetracked by Elizabeth Hartman’s Sparkle Punch Quilt-Along. I have always stayed away from stars as I am not the best at making perfect points, but this tutorial shows a great technique to make stars without having to align anything too precisely. It is actually great fun to do. Here is my version, with blue stars on a cream background.

I am now thinking of making a tiny version of this as a wall hanging, using 2-inch squares as a base instead of 4-inch squares for the quilt. But I should really finish all these jobs first, shouldn’t I ?

~ Catherine

This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of snowballs and stars

  1. Deb says:

    I can see why you had “startitis” for this quilt top…it appears to be contagious! Now I want to make a pink, red and grey quilt!

Leave a Reply

