What to make with… Upholstery fabric swatches

I was recently given a stack of upholstery fabric swatches ( thank you Eithne !) and was wondering how to use them until I came across this tutorial for Rag Quilt Letters. Jessica provides downloads for the alphabet in uppercase and in lowercase and also numbers. It looked like the perfect project for Lucie, who just started in Junior Infants.

So I started by separating the fabrics from the presentation folder, then I ironed each of them before making the quilt sandwiches.

Then I printed out the letters, cut them out and marked them onto the sandwiches.

Then I quilted on the markings and inside each letter. Once that was done, I cut out each letter using pinking shears.  And this is what it looks like :

I used this project to do some free motion quilting practice.

Clearly I need a lot more practice ! But Lucie loves them, especially after I made a little drawstring pouch in purple upholstery fabric too !

This post is also linked in

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

~ Catherine

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What to make with… Upholstery fabric swatches

  1. katie h says:

    excellent use of the swatches – so original – well done to you

  2. Carla V. says:

    Great idea and fun too!

  3. Lynettt says:

    What a fun idea. 🙂

  4. Katy says:

    Cute idea, and fab way to practice your FMQ

  5. KellyS says:

    Awesome! I love this idea for practicing your FMQ! I don’t have much spare fabric to spare yet.

  6. felicity says:

    Wow! Totally adorable!!

  7. Aeble says:

    Great use of some “scrap” fabric!

Leave a Reply

