Baby Memory Quilts

I have just completed a commission for a neighbour : a set of Baby Memory Quilts using babygros and onesies.

These quilts were great fun to make but proved a bit challenging too. The jersey material was very stretchy and the velvety fabric was very slippery Рit would not stay in place, slipping half an inch in the wrong direction every time ! I ended up having to pin every seam at one-inch intervals  to keep things in place.

The other challenge was to applique the name of each child on each quilt. I had never done any applique before. I was initially going to draw the letters of each names myself but I found this Etsy shop selling inexpensive craft fonts. All you need to do is specify the size of letters you want to use and the seller sends you a PDF that you can print and then use to trace out your letters for applique. It worked really well for me.

Aren’t these details so cute ?

~Catherine

This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Memory Quilts

  1. These quilts are really lovely, a great idea. I’ve been thinking about doing one for my kids but the thought of all that jersey fabric just puts me off!! Beautiful keepsake to have. I found you through the Sew Irish group on Flickr, thanks for joining, its lovely to “meet” another Irish based quilter!

    • Thank you and nice to meet you too Sarah ! Yes, working with jersey is a bit of a pain. If I was to make another one in the future, I might try and use some stabilizing fabric in the back of the jersey to see if it helps. I am now following your blog in Google Reader too.

Leave a Reply

