What to make with… a charm pack

During a recent cleanup of my fabrics, I came across a charm pack of Rural Jardin by French General for Moda  that I had forgotten about. I had no definite idea of what to make with it until I remembered my 2-inch hexagon paper templates. They are the perfect match for a charm pack! So I started to make 42 hexagons and to assemble them on the floor to see what sort of surface I would end up with :

Well, not a lot but enough to make a slieve for my MacBook Air with a little bit to spare on the sides. So I assembled the 42 pieces and used a double thickness of scrap batting and a piece of cream flannel for the inside :

I quilted each hexagon close to the seams.

And here is the finished slieve :

All I need now is a suitable button !

~~Catherine

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to make with… a charm pack

  1. Alia says:

    Very nice! I really like the quilting!

  2. What a great idea!! Please, please tell me how to piece these together. Do you need Y seams?

    • Hi Judy !
      I created the hexagons using the English paper piecing method and I assembled them by hand. It’s the perfect sewing project to do in front of the TV I find. I have not tried piecing hexagons by machine yet. Does that help ?
      Catherine

Leave a Reply

